Web Content Viewer
Actions

Early Childhood Safety Initiative

 

As Ohio's sole public funding source dedicated to child abuse and neglect prevention, the Ohio Children's Trust Fund (OCTF) is at the forefront of prevention activities throughout the state. 

OCTF received one million dollars per year in Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) funding during the 2020-2021 biennial budget cycle. This fund has helped to support a variety of parent education programs across the state as well as a new OCTF initiative - the Early Childhood Safety Initiative (ECSI). 

"We believe that when the people who surround children have the support and resources they need, then children get the nurturing environments they deserve."-Lindsay Williams, OCTF Executive Director 

Prevention Spotlight

Tuscarawas County Health Department

In SFY 2021 OCTF awarded grants ranging from $10,000 to $50,000 to service providers across the state to provide one-time parent/caregiver education consultations with concrete safety-related supports (i.e. cribs, pack n plays, car seats, baby gates, toddler beds, sleep sacks, etc.) to eligible families.  

By increasing the distribution of parent education materials related to topics like infant safe sleep practices, childhood development and child safety as well as increasing access to concrete safety-related supports we can:

  • Better Support new parents.
  • Decrease risk factors related to infant and child mortality.
  • Potentially prevent injury-related deaths.

OCTF continues to work with organizations across the state to provide the ECSI initiative. Find a provider in your area. 

Current 2022 ECSI Providers

Central 

Dayton Children's Hospital

Contact: Abbey Pettiford pettiforda@childrensdayton.org

Fairfield County FCFC

Contact: Dumitru “Raz” Sabaiduc - dumitru.sabaiduc@fairfieldcountyohio.gov

Syntero

Contact: Debbie Combs, dcombs@syntero.org

Eastern

Forever Dads

Contact: Erika McDaniel – Erika.mcdaniel@foreverdads.com      

Jefferson County ESC

Contact: Linda Trushel, ltrushel@hhcsd.org

Tuscarawas County Health Department

Contact: Natasha Yonley,  nyonley@tchdnow.org

Great Lakes

Catholic Charites

Contact: Brenda Hernandez, bhernandez@ccdocle.org

Ohio Guidestone

Contact: Brittany Pope, brittany.pope@ohioguidestone.org

University Hospitals - Rainbow Babies

Contact: Briana Price – Briana.price@uhhospitals.org

West Side Catholic Center

Contact: Jeanette Mazzola, jmazzola@wsccenter.org

Northeast

Akron Children's Hospital

wmcmahon@akronchildrens.org

The Brightside Project

Contact: Lisa Wallace,  lisa@brightsideprojectohio.org

Catholic Charities

Contact: Brenda Hernandez, bhernandez@ccdocle.org

Greenleaf Family Center

Contact: Dawn Glenny, gdawn@greenleafctr.org

Northwest

Dayton Children's Hospital

Contact: Abbey Pettiford - pettiforda@childrensdayton.org

Hancock County Health Department

Contact: Alexa Heacock, aheacock@hancockph.com

Henry County Health Department

Contact: Susan Davis - sdavis@henrycohd.org

Lucas County Health Department

Contact: Heidi Sifuentes, sifuentesh@co.lucas.oh.us

St. Vincent Mercy Medical Center

Contact: Lindsey Miller, lmmiller@mercy.com

Southeast

Forever Dads

Contact: Erika McDaniel – Erika.mcdaniel@foreverdads.com

Jackson-Vinton Community Action Inc.

Contact: Cheryl Thiessen - cthiessen@jvcai.org

Morgan County Health Department

Contact: Jeff Michaels, jeff.michaels@morgancounty-oh.gov

Washington County FCFC

Contact: Cindy Davis, fcfc@suddenlinkmail.com

Southwest

Adams Brown Community Action Partnership

Contact: Bonita Haas, bhaas@abcap.net 

Cincinnati Children's Hospital

Contact: Dawne Gardner, dawne.gardner@cchmc.org

Dayton Children's Hospital

Contact: Cordell Williams - williamsc@childrensdayton.org

Elizabeth New Life Center

Contact: Cheri Neff, cneff@womenscenterohio.com

Western

Dayton Children's Hospital

Contact: Cordell Williams - williamsc@childrensdayton.org

Elizabeth's New Life Center

Contact: Cheri Neff, cneff@womenscenterohio.com

St. Vincent Mercy Medical Center

Contact: Lindsey Miller, lmmiller@mercy.com